Freedom for the Unglued.

negative-thinking

Over time, negative thought patterns can become self-defeating labels that impact how we see ourselves and keep us stuck in hard places.  Instead of seeing our failures as temporary setbacks, we begin to see them as permanent conditions or even as part of our identity.

From the Unglued video last night we saw that like the unfinished statues, Prisoners, we are also unfinished and trapped in a hard place.  What self condemning labels come to mind when you think about your raw emotions and reactions? What impact have these labels had on how you see yourself? How do they keep us stuck?

I never get appreciated….. Always waiting for appreciation or worth in my actions. My worth should be in the Lord. My acts of service should be without expecting nothing in return. 

The Apostle Peter was also stuck in his emotions.. (Matthew 14:22-32)  (Matthew 16:21-23) (John 18:1-10) He even let his fear cause him to deny Jesus three times.  (John 18:15-18, 25, 27)

Jesus Walks on the Water

22 Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. 23 After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone, 24 and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it.

25 Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. 26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.

27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”

28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

29 “Come,” he said.

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

After this event i am sure Peter was labeling himself, why do I doubt? I am always so full of fear and worry…. I always fall. Like Apostle Peter I want to walk on that water, but I am looking around unfocused. Me of little faith, I do not trust He will catch me when I fall. I want so bad to succeed that I sabotage it with my doubt.

Peter was not always named that. His given name was Simon which means shifty, but the first thing Jesus did when He met Simon was change his name to Peter which meant rock. I looked up my name Jennifer and it means …..White; fair; smooth….  What could that mean for me?  I am pretty white and pasty if that is what they are talking about, but I am sure that  meaning goes deeper.  I think of snow white and how fair she want, how she cared for others and had a sweet heart.

Jesus begins his relationship with Peter chiseling away.  Jesus gives Peter a new name that reflects a deeper truth about his identity. I believe my new name is .. not really a name, but a daughter. He gave me a father that i longed for and my new name daughter and child of God, sister in Christ. All these new names give me a new perspective on who I am with Him in my heart.

In John 1:29 you will see John when he lays eyes on Jesus and proclaims and baptizes Him! Well the next day John and two of his disciples, one being Simon Peter’s brother, Andrew They were there, John pointed out Jesus and the disciples followed Jesus.  They asked where he was staying and went there to listen to Jesus’ words. They spent the day there.  4 in the afternoon Andrew ran home to his brother Simon Peter and proclaimed they had found the Messiah! and he brought Simon Peter to Jesus. We are to bring people to Jesus in just this way!  Jesus takes one look at him and says… you are Peter. Can you imagine? Jesus knew who he was, knew he was Simon. He knew who he had been and I also saw that masterpiece beneath and named him a worthy name of that masterpiece.

Close your eyes (after you read this) and think to yourself coming to Jesus and Him speaking these words to you… what emotions come to mind?

I see you………..   I always feel invisible. Hiding in plain sight. He sees me… who I am.. all of me… and doesn’t not turn away in disgust. 

I know who you are……….. Nothing I have done is hidden from Him. Completely transparent. NO mask needed and that is freeing. 

I know the deeper truth about who you really are…… who I am inside. Who I was meant to be. Who he sees me as. My full potential. 

2 Timothy 1:7

7 For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

In the situations where I want to become unglued, I always have the choice to be a reactor or a responder.